book review

#BookReview : The Vegetarian by Han Kang

The Vegetarian

Book : The Vegetarian
Author : Han Kang

Before the nightmare, Yeong-hye and her husband lived an ordinary life. But when splintering, blood-soaked images start haunting her thoughts, Yeong-hye decides to purge her mind and renounce eating meat. In a country where societal mores are strictly obeyed, Yeong-hye’s decision to embrace a more “plant-like” existence is a shocking act of subversion. And as her passive rebellion manifests in ever more extreme and frightening forms, scandal, abuse, and estrangement begin to send Yeong-hye spiraling deep into the spaces of her fantasy. In a complete metamorphosis of both mind and body, her now dangerous endeavor will take Yeong-hye—impossibly, ecstatically, tragically—far from her once-known self altogether.

The Review :

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Depressing yet beautiful.

I decided to read this book because I loved the cover and the title intrigued me. I read this genre (again) after a long time and I guess one of the reasons why I really loved it was that I was able to absorb the beautiful writing and imagery which the writer is trying to show.

This book is about Yeong-hye, who is mentally unstable, and believes herself to be a plant. She stops eating meat, throws away all the leather articles she has and the problem comes when she tries to make others also this. This book is written in three part by three different people and each person tells her condition from his POV. Though this book centers the patient, it shows the really picture of the society where one loves other only till that person is not a burden.

Out of all the characters, I liked In-hye the most. She was the only person who didn’t abandon Yeong-hye. I liked how strong she is and how much she loved her sister Yeong-hye.

Overall, it was a great read. My first 5 star book of 2016, In fact. 🙂

*I received the ebook for an honest review. Thanks to Blogging for Books and Netgalley.*

View all my reviews

4 thoughts on “#BookReview : The Vegetarian by Han Kang

  1. Hello , I have nominated you for The One Lovely Blog Award on my blog https://felixmoviethoughts.wordpress.com/2016/02/10/i-am-nominated/

    I have looked around for newer blogs which I think show a lot of promise, and I think The Golden Scribbler does!

    I have scrolled through your poems and reviews, and I really like what you have written. I think you give a great all-around perspective on the book, but maybe you could describe in a bit more detail, so that the reader understands your thoughts a bit better? But maybe you are happy with the more general approach, whatever works the best for you.

    Keep on reading and write great things, I wish you the best!

    But, you have been nominated and therefore you have to do these things listed below here:
    1. Thanking the person that nominated you
    2. Stating 7 random facts about yourself
    3. Nominate 7-15 other blogs (preferably newer blogs)
    4. Don’t forget to add The Lovely Blog Award logo to your post (google it if you can’t find it).

    Happy reading and writing!

    //Felix

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! 🙂
      I actually don’t give much details in my reviews as some readers take them as spoilers and I really don’t like spoiling a book for someone, unintentionally 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

