book review

#BookReview Dark Places by Gillian Flynn

Dark PlacesDark Places by Gillian Flynn

3.5 stars rounded up to 4! 🙂

This is my second Flynn book after The Grownup and I gave 3.5 stars to both the books. I don’t really like psychological thrillers but still wanted to try another book by this author hoping that I will be love it this time. It still don’t work for me but this book was better than The Grownup.

This story is about Libby whose family is murderer when she was only seven and her fifteen year old brother was arrested for the murders. Now, after more than two decades, she meet Lyle and members of Kill Club who try to convince her that her brother was innocent.

While the plot was good, the former half of the story was really slow for my liking. I was bored and wanted a better, interesting writing, perhaps. The POV shifts from person to person and often goes back in time. I didn’t like Libby’s narration. Those were the boring parts for me. Patty’s narration was something I used to look forward to. A bonus star only for the ending and Patty for whatever she did. That was one of those very few things I liked in this book.

Overall, 3.5 stars! 🙂

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

