book chat · book review

#BookReview : The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole by Sue Townsend

The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole, Aged 13 3/4 (Adrian Mole, #1)The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole, Aged 13 3/4 by Sue Townsend

Teen angst has never been such serious business – or this much fun! In his secret diary, British teen Adrian Mole excruciatingly details every morsel of his turbulent adolescence. Mixed in with daily reports about the spot sprouting on his chin are heartrending passages about his parents’ chaotic marriage.

Adrian sees all, and he has something to say about everything. Delightfully self-centered, Adrian is the sort of teen who could rule a much better world – if only his crazy relatives and classmates would get out of his way!

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I wanted to read something different from my usual reads so my friend Smitha recommended this book to me. When she mentioned that this book is written like a diary, the usual picture of a bubbly girl writing a diary came to my mind but it was Adrian Mole and I haven’t read my books with male diary writers so this was the main reason I picked this book.

This is the diary of Adrian Mole who is 13 3/4 years old and is waiting for his birthday. He considers himself and the readers intellectuals so he sarcasm and sallies towards the dumber characters in the book was probably my favorite part. In this book, his parents break up but soon after, them make up again, Mole gets sick and has trouble in school but overall the book maintains a light and funny circumstances.

Really liked it and looking forward to read the following books in the series.
Overall, 4.5 stars! šŸ™‚

View all my reviews

4 thoughts on “#BookReview : The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole by Sue Townsend

Leave a Reply

